What the hell is Insanity?

So, I figured I’d give you guys a bit more info on the Insanity workouts, by Beachbody.  These are the same folks who do P90x, which you may have heard of.

First, they are awesome. 

Second, they are hard.

Third, here’s some details.  It’s circuit training, which means you go really hard for a fairly short time period, then a quick recovery.  While you are going really hard, you are doing both cardio and strenth stuff.  Lots of jumping (jump squats, ski jumps, frog jumps, globe jumps) plenty of pushups, some ab work, and some targeted upper body.  However, you do all of this using your own body weight, no weights.  Which believe me, is fucking hard. 

In the firs 30 days, most of the workouts are around 40 minutes long.  Next week is a recovery week, so we’ll do the recovery DVD every day.  I have no idea what that entails, but I suspect ol’ Shawn T’s idea of recovery and mine (laying on the couch with a cat, a book, and wine) are not the same.  We shall see.

For the second month, all the workouts are called Max Something Or Another.  Max Plyometrics, Max Cardio, Max Death Workout…  you get the drift.  And I believe these are a bit longer, like 50-60 min.  It will be interesting to see how different and how much harder these are. 

Oh, and thanks for the encouragement girls!  I am down a bit more this morning, but it’s not an official weigh in, so who knows what Tuesday will bring.  If I can stay on track on the weekend, I do well.  If I pretend that I have a raging metabolism and am one of those assholes who can eat pizza+ice cream+cheetos for every meal and not gain any weight, well, you can imagine how the weigh in goes.  😀  However, I will be having ice cream this weekend.  I’m taking my nieces out for a fun day of fabric shopping, and we will top the whole thing off with ice cream.  Woo! 

Oh, and for the second day in a row, I got my ass up to run before work.  All it takes is a barrage of texts from my imaginary friends.  Who knew?

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “What the hell is Insanity?”

  1. runs4chocolate Says:

    Thanks Courtney, I like the idea of using your body weight for the “weight” part of it. I don’t have any fitness equipment here, but I was thinking about buying bands or small weights as a “reward” for this weeks weight loss.

    Yes, I think I need to reward myself weekly. I am pathetic.

    Enjoy the ice cream!

  2. Novia Says:

    Lots and lots of jumping? That’s what I hate about the Plyo workout. But hey, its obviously working! You’re more of a woe-man than me!

  3. Courtney Says:

    Yeah, I’m not much of a jumper. White girl can’t jump – fo sho. 😀

Leave a comment