The results are in

I didn’t do the long run.  I just didn’t wanna.  Terrible, I’m sure.  However, I’ve had kind of an epiphany around running lately.  I’m done “training” for a while.  I want to run because I want to, not because I have to.  I’ve been feeling this way for a while, and now that I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’m not running my half in two weeks, it’s kind of freeing.  I want to run because it’s fun, and for exercise.  Not so I can do a race. 

I know this won’t last indefinitely.  I’ll start to feel the pull of a race sooner or later, but for now, I just want to go back to running.  Just running.  I’d like to do some local races for fun, and to be part of the running community.  These will be 5K or 10K races.  Short, easy, no pressure.  Ideally, I’ll work on running faster during this time, but I’m really not going to worry about it.  I’ve been dreading the long runs for longer than I can remember.  And quite frankly, that isn’t how I want it to be.  So until that feeling goes away, I want to go out and run 3-5 miles several times a week, with a “long run” of up to 7 or 8 on the weekends.  And if I don’t feel like that long of a run, I’ll give myself permission to just do another 3-5 miler.  It’s not like I’m on the cusp of a BQ, or training for the Olympics, FFS.  I run because it feels good, it’s great for my mental health, and it makes me feel kind of awesome to say I’m a runner. 

So this is what I’m going to do.  For now.  Until I change my mind again.  Which could be in 4 days, or 4 months.  Or longer. 

I weigh in tomorrow morning.  My hubby lost another 3 lbs this week (I’m so proud of him!).  I don’t expect any results like that.  I’ve weighed in all week, and I’ve been consistently down a little bit from last Tuesday.  So we’ll see.  After a big week (for me) last week, I don’t expect another one like that.  It never works that way for me!  I did ask my DH to help me to be more accountable in logging my food.  I start out going gang-bangers each week (is that phrase right?  It seems weird when I write it out.) and by Friday and Saturday, I’m not being consistent with logging.  By Monday I’m like “Well, I weigh in tomorrow, so why bother today?”  Not helping!!  DH agreed to help me be accountable, if I promised not to get mad at him when he asks me “Did you log that peanut butter you are shoveling in your pie hole?”  😀  I pointed out that he could attempt to be tactful, but that isn’t really his MO…  so this could be interesting!  🙂

Oh, and for those of you waiting on bated breath to find out what the recovery week of the Insanity workouts are like…  well they are not too bad.  Nice and easy pace.  The workout is 40 min long, and has some of the same stuff (at a slower pace) as the first month, and some new stuff.  I’m kind of nervously looking forward to starting the second month.  Eek!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “The results are in”

  1. Novia Says:

    all i wanna know is: ‘do your butt cheeks clap together when you have to jump around during the insanity workout?’

    deep insight about running. i took a break a few years ago that turned into a three year break, but I was totally okay with it and I feel like I’m a better adjusted runner now. Although, I sacrificed speed (used to do 9:00 – 10:00 miles effortlessly, now I average 11:30 – 12:00) but I’m really okay with that, because now, I seem to enjoy the journey a little more than before. Most of the times that is! 🙂

    And it’s ‘gung-ho’ not ‘gang bang’!

  2. Courtney Says:

    I am not aware of any butt cheek clapping. Just general applause. 😉

    I’m not even going to stop running, I’m just going to stop training for specific races. I just don’t wanna do it. I need for running to not be a pressure-type thing, just something I do for fun.

  3. Courtney Says:

    Oh, and did I make up the phrase with gang-bangers? I swear I’m not the first person I’ve heard say that!!

  4. runs4chocolate Says:

    Um, I think you meant that at first you went like “gang-busters”. Gang bangers is different. Actual Gang language or something.

  5. runs4chocolate Says:

    Ya see I’m relating to both of you gals these days. Court, your no racing strategy, is like my no-planning/dreaming strategy. I just want to run and stay healthy and not push it. I tend to look at the 12 week training plans, decide that I can do them in 10 weeks and then get hurt after 4. D’oh. This season is all about just getting fit and staying injury free. I think you will enjoy your running for running attitude!

    Can’t wait to year your weigh in results!

  6. Novia Says:

    yeah gang busters…gang banging…well that wasn’t what you meant to say!

Leave a Reply

