Tomorrow is the day.

12 weeks till my half marathon in Dallas.  That means a few things:

  1. Must get my shit together on my running schedule.
  2. Must clean up my eating act. 
  3. I need to make up my mind that this race will be a good one for me.

So let’s talk about #1.  In order to make this happen, I’m going to have to do my weekly runs in the AM, before work, at 5 am.  My girl Scoobs is helping me out by calling me to make sure I’m running (she’s two hours ahead of me).  The other thing is that I must get my long run done.  Due to my Spinning teaching schedule, this is going to mean doing it on Mondays (I’m off work on Mondays).  Then I can run Wed, Thurs, Fri morning.  Saturday and Sunday will be spinning days, as are Thursday nights. 

#2.  This one is even harder for me.  I’m so fucking tired of being fat.  I’m fucking tired of wondering if my pants will fit (right now they are on the uncomfortably tight side).  I have to get this figured out.  I need to flip that switch.  No more junk.  It’s really the junk that gets me.  I rarely overeat on fruit, veggies, or even dinner.  Less eating out wouldn’t hurt, either.  In order to make this happen, I’m going to have to commit to cooking more, and packing my lunch more.  *sigh*  Going out to dinner is so fun, and nice and relaxing.  And getting lunch with DH during the week is a great way to connect, and to get away from the office.  But, I know that in order to be successful, I need to break the cycle.  That doesn’t mean I’ll never do these things, just that they won’t be the norm anymore.  Menu planning is going to be a big part of this.  I want to eat as cleanly as possible.  I know that I will feel better if I do.

#3.  I’ve had shitty half marathons.  All 5 of them, with the exception of the first one where I had no expectations, sucked.  They sucked time-wise, and they sucked feeling wise.  So I have to change my mindset.  I think I dread the sucking part so much that I subconsciously sabotage myself.  Dumb, de-dumb, dumb.  DUMB!    I need to go in to this training regiment with a positive, “I will hit my PR this time!” attitude.  So, it is written.  I will.  I am.  I will get my PR.  2:30 or less.  Which is not fast for anyone else, but would be a good performance for me.  🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tomorrow is the day.”

  1. willrun Says:

    ok, you’ve put it in print, so now it must be done! Looking forward to reading the rest of the journey.

    Thinking seriously about starting a blog of my own.

  2. Courtney Says:

    You should!!! 🙂 Definitely!

Leave a Reply

