The Thanksgiving aftermath

Report:

Anthem Turkey Day 5K race.  Fun.  Semi-hilly.  It really seemed to be gradually uphill for most of it.  34:49, no PR.  But such is life.  I ran with a friend, and it was nice to have someone to chat with!  Beautiful morning, ended up in my short sleeves! 

However, Redline Races needs to get their shit together.  This is the second year for this race, and while it was a little better run than last year, you should never have to stand in line for 20 minutes after running to get a bottle of water and the after-race food.  That is simply unacceptable.  Last year you had to stand in line forever at the finish line to get your time.  I totally said “fuck it” and skipped the line, but this year in order to get some freakin’ water, I had to stand in line.  If you are reading this, Redline Races, FIX THIS.  You had chip timing, FFS (for fuck’s sake), there should be none of this shit. 

I spent the rest of Thursday watching football (GO COWBOYS AND BRONCOS!) and sewing.  I got lots of it done, and finished up my projects on Friday morning.  We headed to the in-laws’ house mid-day.  Big dinner that night, where I provided mashed potatoes, roasted green beans, and a healthy corn/green pepper dish.  It wasn’t too bad, calorie wise.  Saturday was iffy, with too much candy, but could have been worse.  I did get a kick ass workout in at 24 Hour Fitness, who let me work out for FREE!  WOO!  We came home today, and the eating has been “meh” since there isn’t a ton of fresh food in the house.

Grocery shopping is on tap for tomorrow.  Workout tomorrow.  I’ll check in afterwards.  I hope all my girls had a good Turkey Day weekend!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “The Thanksgiving aftermath”

  1. Novia Says:

    that was my complaint about the akron marathon i couldn’t believe they made us stand in line to get food dolled out to us after running…i’ve never seen that before.

    if i’d run the marathon like y’all, I would’ve complained that I had to walk up stairs, then the length of the stadium to get to the food afterwards!

    poor planning, obviously runners didn’t plan it

Leave a Reply

