My set of rules (subject to change):

So I started this whole “running my ass off” thing with a big flat flop. 

Today has been filled with hershey kisses and chips.  WTF?  I know this shit isn’t what it will take.  When I don’t have rules, or guidelines, or a nanny telling me what to do 😉 I fail.  So I’m going to set some rules.  If I can follow these most days, I’ll do ok.

My no-brainers (aka- rules):

  1. Ditch the junk.  Seriously.  No candy, no chips, no crackers, no crap food.  This does not have a place in my daily diet. 
  2. 7-9 Fruits or Veggies per day.  I know I eat less calories when I’m eating fruits and veggies.  I read somewhere (if it was on the internet, it has to be true, right?) that we tend to eat the same volume of food per day, so if I can fill up most of that volume with fiber filled fruits and veggies, maybe I won’t have room for the shit in Rule 1. 
  3. Eat a filling breakfast, with a fruit or veggie serving.  I always eat breakfast.  It’s something I took away from the big weight loss years ago.  But I have slacked on filling breakfasts, and rarely get any fruit or veggies in for that meal.
  4. As many whole foods as possible.  Less processed, packaged stuff.
  5. Eat out less.  Lunches are the hard part for me.  My hubby works in the same building as I do, and it’s a nice break to go get lunch.  Limit us to 2x week.  Trust me, that will be challenge enough. 
  6. Work out in the morning.  If I wait around until after work, something really important always comes up.  Like sitting on my ass watching House Hunters.  Which is what I’m doing right now. 

So that is it.  For now.  The hardest 2?  5 & 6.  We’ll see. 

I also realize that I’m not going to go through the rest of my life without candy or cookies, or whatever.  So I’m going to allow myself a treat on Sundays.  May that be ice cream, or cookies, or whatever.  A small treat will not hurt anything, and hopefully it will keep me from making a pig of myself during the day. 

Somehow, I’ve managed to turn myself into a yo-yo dieter, where I say things like “I’ll start tomorrow” and “today is my last hurrah, I better pig out” and this pretty much mortifies me.  I tend to assign this kind of thought process to all those frumpy fat women who say “I can’t” all the time, and refuse to get off their ass to do something about it.  I’ve become what I hate.  So, since I know I have the knowledge and power to stop being one of them.  God knows I don’t want to be fat and frumpy.  And “I can’t” is not a motto I live by for anything, ever.  So, how in the hell I have gotten to this spot is beyond me.  But I’m taking my life back. 

But if someone wants to help me out by texting my lazy ass every morning at 4:40 am so I can workout, I wouldn’t turn it down.  😀

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “My set of rules (subject to change):”

  1. jonnygetsfit Says:

    If you stick to those rules you’ll do great. And, as the weeks go by, the easier it will be as your cravings subside.

    I know, I’ve done it recently too.

    Check out my blog – you may get some ideas: http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/

    All the best & stay fit,

    Jonny

  2. Allison (Balance in Bites) Says:

    The internet is always right. Always.

    >.>

    Also, “today is my last hurrah, I better pig out” – I do the same thing sometimes. I hate it. Which is why I’m excited to go into November feeling good and on track.

    I remember back in high school, I was at some new years eve party, and I wanted to start a diet on January 1. It was 11:20pm and I was like GIMME FOOD, MUST EAT EVERYTHING IN FORTY MINUTES OM NOM NOM NOM NOM

    Sigh. I still have tendencies to think in black and white like that. But I think I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

