Running My Ass Off

So I am a 31 year old chick, married, no kids by choice, who likes to read, spends too much time online, and is finally getting her shit together to lose the final 30-ish pounds.

About 6 years ago, I lost 70 lbs on weight watchers. I’ve kept it off, and managed to take up running, biking, and being fit in the meantime. I teach Spinning (along with my day job), and I know that I don’t represent the Spinning brand by being chubby. As part of my mysterious day job, I am in charge of employee wellness, and again, being a chubber probably doesn’t do much for my credibility.

So, it’s time. GAH. I’ve been so complacent for so long. So happy to weigh 185 instead of 255. Can you blame me? I mean, it’s nice being here. I used to wear a bulging size 22-24, and now I am solidly a 14. Go me, right?

Right. But, it’s time to get the last pounds off. I want to get faster at running, and if I can lose some weight, I know this will happen, without speedwork even (booya, mothertrucker, I hate speedwork!). But I am the epitome of a slow fat runner, being chubby and running 11-12 min miles.

I’ve run 5 half marathons, and each of them has sucked. I have to be realistic with myself that the extra chub I’m carrying around my abs (there are there, I swear to god, you just can’t see them RIGHT now), and my laziness in training are the reasons. So I’ve set myself some new goals, and I’m using a coach (a good friend of mine, who is FREAKIN awesome) to help me with this. I’m signed up for the Rock ‘n Roll half marathon in Dallas TX in March, and I’m tracking my food intake. I’m hoping this blog will provide me with some accountability, maybe some support of some fellow chubby runners, and a place to vent when I want to. God knows I’ll need that!

So, please check in often. This was a kind of serious post, from someone who is rarely ever serious, so expect some snarky, witty (I hope) and potentially pissy posts in the future. I know this isn’t an easy process. I’m also a bit of an attention whore, so expect pics of me doing random crap, too. I don’t have kids, so I don’t really have a swear filter, so consider yourself warned.

Ok, I’m off to watch football. I hope I don’t have to drive to Dallas and kick someone’s ass later today if they lose. Don’t break my fucking heart again, Tony!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

